Tuesday, February 26, 2008

NBA Finals Leap Year Theory

The 2008 Lakers are well on their way to the NBA finals. That is if you believe in the "Phil Jackson/Lakers Leap Year Theory." Either a Phil Jackson coached team or a Lakers team has made the NBA finals every leap year from 1980-present.

1980: Lakers Win the NBA Championship (4-2)
1984: Lakers lose in the NBA Finals (3-4)
1988: Lakers win the NBA Championship (4-3)
1992: Phil's Bulls win the NBA Championship (4-2)
1996: Phil's Bulls win the NBA Championship (4-2)
2000: Phil's Lakers win the NBA Championship (4-2)
2004: Phil's Lakers lose in the NBA Finals (1-4)
2008: ?

The Lakers are the current favorites to win it, but now you also have this added tidbit to keep yourself busy with. It may be a good time to start placing your bets...



Anonymous said...


Anonymous said...

It's the Lakers density!

Anonymous said...

density? haha

DaMenace said...

I wish everyone would stop using this state.

A) year 2000 was NOT a leap year. Leap year by definition is every 4 years except when the year is divisible by 400 (so those of us who lived through that were in a special year)

B) This stat is just stretching it too much. kind of like 6 degrees of separation type thing

Phillip said...


Kanishka said...

If February has 29 days in it....it's a leap year.

Kanishka said...

2000 was a leap year...for precisely the reason that you say it isn't...it's divisible by 400, that's the exception to the ending in 00 rule.

Typically a year has to be evenly divisible by 4 to be a leap year, unless it ends in 00. The exception to the 00 rule, is divisibility by 400.

Jack said...

discount viagra
buy viagra discount
viagra pharmacy

viagra professional said...

Thank You a ton for writing such a wonderful piece of information. Keep sharing such ideas in the future as well. This was actually what I was looking for, and I am glad to came here! Thanks for sharing the such information with us.